Mountain West announces USU men’s basketball 2018-19 conference slate

LOGAN, Utah – Utah State men’s basketball will open its 2018-19 league slate at Nevada on Wednesday, Jan. 2, as announced by the conference office on Monday. The 18-game schedule features home and road contests against every school in the conference, with the exception of Boise State and UNLV. The Aggies will host the Runnin’ Rebels on Saturday, Feb. 2, and travel to Boise on Saturday, Feb. 23.

 

“We are excited for the 2018-19 season,” head men’s basketball coach Craig Smith said. “The Mountain West is one of the premier conferences in the country. We will find out right away where we stand as we open at the defending champs and a preseason top-10 team. We are fired up to coach this team. Is it November yet?”

 

The league opener will pit Utah State against the anticipated league favorites in Nevada the opening week of January. The Aggies are 2-3 in Mountain West road openers since joining the league.

 

Utah State then hosts back-to-back contests, beginning with Air Force on Saturday, Jan. 5, followed by Fresno State on Wednesday, Jan. 9. USU returns to the road with games at Wyoming on Saturday, Jan. 12, and San José State on Wednesday, Jan. 16.

 

Saturday, Jan. 19, will mark a reunion, of sorts, as Utah State will host Colorado State. First-year CSU head coach Niko Medved and Smith were both members of Tim Miles’ staff in Fort Collins from 2008-12. The Aggies then have their first bye of the season on Wednesday, Jan. 23, before returning to the road and traveling to New Mexico on Saturday, Jan. 26.

 

Utah State then hosts back-to-back games to close out January and open the month of February, welcoming San José State to the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum on Wednesday, Jan. 30, and UNLV on Saturday, Feb. 2. That stretched will be followed by back-to-back road games at Fresno State on Wednesday, Feb. 6, and at San Diego State on Saturday, Feb. 9.

 

The month of February continues with a home contest again Wyoming on Wednesday, Feb. 13, followed by a road game at Air Force on Saturday, Feb. 16. The back-and-forth continues when the Aggies host New Mexico on Wednesday, Feb. 20 and then takes to the road that weekend with a game at Boise State on Saturday, Feb. 23.

 

Utah State will have two of its final three league games at home, hosting San Diego State on Wednesday, Feb. 27, and Nevada on Saturday, March 2. The 2018-19 conference season will wrap up on the road at Colorado State on Wednesday, March 6, before the Aggies have their final bye of the season on Saturday, March 9.

 

The MW also announced the format and game times for the 2019 MW Men’s Basketball Championships. The 10-game tournament begins on Wednesday, March 13 with three first-round games. The men’s quarterfinals are set for Thursday, March 14 with semifinal play on Friday, March 15. The tournament will conclude with the men’s championship game on Saturday, March 16 at 3 p.m. PT.

 

Utah State men’s basketball news and information is available on Facebook (facebook.com/usumen’sbasketball) and on Twitter (@Aggiehoops). Fans can also get USU men’s basketball highlights on YouTube (youtube.com/utahstateathletics). Aggie fans can follow the Utah State athletic program on Twitter (@usuathletics), on Facebook (facebook.com/usuathletics) or on Instagram (@usuathletics).

 

USU Men’s Basketball 2019 Mountain West Schedule

Wed., Jan. 2 – at Nevada

Sat., Jan. 5 – Air Force

Wed., Jan. 9 – Fresno State

Sat., Jan. 12 – at Wyoming

Wed., Jan. 16 – at San José State

Sat., Jan. 19 – Colorado State

Sat., Jan. 26 – at New Mexico

Wed., Jan. 30 – San José State

Sat., Feb. 2 – UNLV

Wed., Feb. 6 – at Fresno State

Sat., Feb. 9 – at San Diego State

Wed., Feb. 13 – Wyoming

Sat., Feb. 16 – at Air Force

Wed., Feb. 20 – New Mexico

Sat., Feb. 23 – at Boise State

Wed., Feb. 27 – San Diego State

Sat., March 2 – Nevada

Wed., March 6 – at Colorado State

March 13-16 – Mountain West Championship (Las Vegas, Nev.)

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *