• Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard
  • April 25, 2015

Utah Gov. OKs ban on phone use for young drivers - CacheValleyDaily.com : News

Utah Gov. OKs ban on phone use for young drivers

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, April 4, 2013 5:45 am | Updated: 4:48 pm, Mon May 13, 2013.

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - Utah Gov. Gary Herbert has approved legislation to impose a $25 fine and ticket on teens who talk on the phone while driving.

The law makes it a misdemeanor for 16 and 17-year-olds to talk and drive.

It would not apply to teens using a phone to reach out to parents or authorities in an emergency situation. If teens were to violate the rule and receive a ticket, that ticket would not count against them in points on their driver's license.

Opponents of the measure said the regulation would be an unnecessary government overreach and doesn't address other concerns about distracted driving.

The governor's office announced his approval of the measure on Wednesday.

The law is set to take effect May 14.

© 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

News Videos

Follow us on Facebook