Jared Quayle named candidate for Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

LOGAN, Utah   Utah State¹s Jared Quayle has been named one of 30 candidates for the 2009-10 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, which is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Student-Athlete of the Year, it was announced Wednesday. It is the third year in a row that a Utah State player has been named one of 30 national candidates for this award as Jaycee Carroll was selected as one of 10 finalists in 2008 and Gary Wilkinson was one of 30 candidates in 2009. Quayle, a 6-1 senior guard from Perry, Utah is the only player from the state of Utah and the only player from the Western Athletic Conference to be selected for this award. Entering the 2009-10 season, Quayle was voted to the WAC’s preseason first-team by both the media and coaches after earning second-team all-WAC honors last year. As a junior, Quayle averaged 13.1 points, 6.0 rebounds and 3.7 assists per game, while shooting 46.5 percent from the field, 38.8 percent from three-point range and 76.4 percent from the free throw line. He finished the year ranking third in the WAC in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.05), sixth in steals (1.43), sixth in assists, seventh in free throw shooting, 11th in scoring and 12th in rebounding. Quayle was also named to the WAC’s all-tournament team in 2009 and received high-major honorable mention All-American honors from CollegeHoops.net. The Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the ‘Four C’s’ of classroom, character, community and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award was launched during the 2001-02 season to honor the attributes of college basketball seniors who remain committed to their university and pursue the many rewards that a senior season and complete college education brings. Now in its ninth year for basketball, the award has developed into the nation’s premier tribute for college seniors. Since originating with basketball, Lowe’s has expanded the award to include a total of eight NCAA sports. “Lowe’s is proud to be associated with the nominees for the Senior CLASS Award in men’s and women’s basketball,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “Each of the student-athletes has shown tremendous commitment to their studies during their college careers. They have also demonstrated great character and a passion for community service.” The list of 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition. The award was conceived by sportscaster Dick Enberg, who continues to serve as Honorary Chairman. It was inspired by the remarkable story of former Duke University basketball player Shane Battier, who could have been an NBA lottery pick but returned to college for his senior season and led the Blue Devils to the National Championship in 2001. Previous winners of the men’s award include Juan Dixon of Maryland (2002), David West of Xavier (2003), Jameer Nelson of St. Joseph’s (2004), Wayne Simien of Kansas (2005), J.J. Reddick of Duke (2006), Alando Tucker of Wisconsin (2007), Shan Foster of Vanderbilt (2008) and Tyler Hansbrough of North Carolina (2009). For more information, visit www.seniorCLASSaward.com. -USU- 2009-10 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Men’s Candidates

<strong>Name Position School</strong>

Matt Bouldin Guard Gonzaga University Da’Sean Butler Forward West Virginia University Devan Downey Guard University of South Carolina Dodie Dunson Guard Bradley University Jason Duty Guard Duquesne University Patrick Foley Guard Columbia University Marcus Ginyard Guard University of North Carolina Marquis Hall Guard Lehigh University Luke Harangody Forward University of Notre Dame Damion Jones Forward University of Texas Adam Koch Forward University of Northern Iowa David Kool Guard Western Michigan University Chris Kramer Guard Purdue University Roman Martinez Forward University of New Mexico Michael McConathy Guard Northwestern State University Yves Mekongo Forward La Salle University Raymar Morgan Forward Michigan State University Matthew Mullery Forward Brown University Hamady Ndiaye Center Rutgers University Dexter Pittman Center University of Texas Jared Quayle Guard Utah State University Jerome Randle Guard University of California, Berkeley Scottie Reynolds Guard Villanova University Nate Rohnert Guard/Forward University of Denver Jon Scheyer Guard Duke University DeShawn Sims Forward University of Michigan Tyler Smith Guard/Forward University of Tennessee J.T. Tiller Guard University of Missouri Ben Uzoh Guard University of Tulsa Josh Young Guard Drake University

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!