New councilmembers take their seats Tuesday

There will be a new face around the table at the Logan Municipal Council’s first meeting of the new year Tuesday, January 5th at 5:30 p.m. Holly Daines will be sworn in as a new councilmember replacing Tami Pyfer who chose not to seek a third term. Also to be sworn in are Mayor Randy Watts, who was elected to a second term, and Dean Quayle who was appointed when former councilmember Steve Thompson resigned and then Quayle was elected in November. “On that first council meeting the oath of office will be administered to Mayor (Randy) Watts, Dean Quayle and Holly Daines for their term in office,” says Logan City Recorder Teresa Harris. “We’ll do that at the very beginning of the meeting.” Harris also says the first meeting of the year will come with some extra pomp and circumstance. “There will also be a special flag ceremony that will be presented by our Logan City Police and Logan City Fire Department Honor Guard.” Harris says the public’s invited to attend and wish the newly elected and re-elected officials well. After the ceremony Harris says there will be a full agenda that includes a recommendation on a proposed landlord licensing program. Mayor Watts will also be presenting his State of the City Address.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!