Aggie men claim second straight outright WAC title and third straight regular season championship overall

LOGAN, Utah – Utah State’s men’s basketball team claimed its second straight outright Western Athletic Conference regular season championship without even lacing them up as New Mexico State, the league’s second-place team, lost at Nevada, 100-92, Thursday night. Overall, it is the third straight regular season WAC Championship for USU as it shared the league title in 2008 with a 12-4 mark, won the conference outright in 2009 with a 14-2 record, and is currently 13-2 in league play this year with one game remaining. It is also the sixth regular season championship under head coach Stew Morrill as the Aggies won Big West Conference titles in 2000, 2002 and 2004, and the 15th all-time in school history. Utah State’s current run of three straight regular season conference championships is the longest streak in school history as the only other time USU won back-to-back league titles was in 1997 and 1998 when those teams went 12-4 and 13-3 in the Big West Conference. For the third straight year, Utah State will enter the WAC’s postseason tournament as the top seed. The 2010 WAC Tournament is being held at the Lawlor Events Center on the campus of the University of Nevada for the second straight year and will run from Thursday, March 11 through Saturday, March 13. Utah State (24-6, 13-2) currently owns the nation’s second-longest winning streak at 14 straight games, along with New Mexico, and has won 18 of its last 20 games after starting the year with a 6-4 record. Utah State will conclude its regular season on Saturday, March 6 as it hosts New Mexico State (19-10, 11-4) in the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum at 7 p.m. The game will be televised live throughout the state of Utah on CW30.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!