Aggies dominate WAC postseason awards

Utah State’s Stew Morrill was named the Western Athletic Conference coach of the year, two Aggies were named to the first team all-conference, two Aggies were named to the all-newcomer team and one Aggie was selected to the all-defensive team in the conference’s postseason awards that were announce Sunday.The award winners are selected by the league’s nine head coaches.The first team is led by Nevada sophomore forward Luke Babbitt who was also voted the WAC’s Player of the Year. Babbitt led the WAC in scoring at 23.7 points per game and ranked third in rebounding at 8.9 rebounds per game in WAC play. Utah State’s Jared Quayle and Tai Wesley, New Mexico State’s Jahmar Young and San Jose State’s Adrian Oliver were also first team selections.Babbitt, Quayle and Young are repeat all-WAC honorees from last season. Babbitt and Young earned first team all-WAC honors last year, while Quayle received second team honors in 2009.This year’s all-WAC second team consists of Fresno State’s Paul George, Louisiana Tech’s Kyle Gibson and Magnum Rolle, Nevada’s Armon Johnson and New Mexico State’s Jonathan Gibson. Gibson and Johnson also earned all-WAC honors last season.Fresno State center Greg Smith becomes the second Bulldog player in team history to earn the WAC’s Freshman of the Year award. In 16 conference games, Smith averaged 11.4 points per contest and 5.8 rebounds per game, while shooting 53.1 percent from the field.Utah State head coach Stew Morrill earned his second Don Haskins Coach of the Year honor by leading the Aggies to a third-straight regular season WAC title. In his 12th year with Utah State, Morrill led the Aggies to a 14-2 conference record. Those named to the WAC’s all-defensive team were Idaho’s Marvin Jefferson, Louisiana Tech’s Kyle Gibson and Magnum Rolle, Nevada’s Dario Hunt and Utah State’s Pooh Williams.Selected to the WAC’s all-newcomer team were Boise State’s Daequon Montreal, Fresno State’s Greg Smith, Louisiana Tech’s DeAndre Brown, and Utah State’s Nate Bendall and Brian Green.The 2010 WAC Tournament will be held March 11-12, at the Lawlor Events Center in Reno, Nev. The men’s teams will compete March 11-13. ESPNU will carry two men’s quarterfinal games, including the noon and 2:30 p.m. PT games on Thursday, March 11. ESPN2 will show the men’s semifinal game on Friday, March 12 at 9:00 p.m. (PT) and the men’s championship game on Saturday, March 13 at 7:00 p.m. PT. All of the games not televised by ESPN will be available on TeamLuke Babbitt, Nevada, F, 6-9, 225, So., Reno, Nev. (Galena HS)Jahmar Young, New Mexico State, G, 6-4, 180, Jr., Baltimore, Md. (Laurinberg Prep)Adrian Oliver, San Jose State, G, 6-4, 210, Jr., Modesto, Calif. (Washington)Jared Quayle, Utah State, G, 6-1, 180, Sr., Perry, Utah (Western Wyoming CC)Tai Wesley, Utah State, F, 6-7, 240, Jr., Provo, Utah (Provo HS)Second TeamPaul George, Fresno State, G/F, 6-8, 215, So., Palmdale, Calif. (Pete Knight HS)Kyle Gibson, Louisiana Tech, G, 6-5, 205, Sr., Los Angeles, Calif. (Dorsey HS)Magnum Rolle, Louisiana Tech, F/C, 6-11, 220, Sr., Freeport, Bahamas (LSU)Armon Johnson, Nevada, G, 6-3, 195, Jr., Reno, Nev. (Hug HS)Jonathan Gibson, New Mexico State, G, 6-1, 171, Sr., West Covina, Calif. (Calvary Christian)Honorable MentionDaequon Montreal, Boise State, F, 6-8, 220, Jr., Syracuse, N.Y. (College of Southern Idaho)Sylvester Seay, Fresno State, F, 6-10, 235, Sr., San Bernardino, Calif. (Arizona State)Roderick Flemings, Hawai‘i, F, 6-7, 210, Sr., Dallas, Texas (Weatherford College)Mac Hopson, Idaho, G, 6-2, 185, Sr., Portland, Ore. (Washington State)Wendell McKines, New Mexico State, F, 6-6, 224, Jr., Oakland, Calif. (Richmond HS)Player of the Year: Luke Babbitt, NevadaFreshman of the Year: Greg Smith, Fresno StateDon Haskins Coach of the Year: Stew Morrill, Utah StateAll-Defensive TeamMarvin Jefferson, Idaho, C, 6-10, 245, Sr., Merced, Calif. (Modesto JC)Kyle Gibson, Louisiana Tech, G, 6-5, 205, Sr., Los Angeles, Calif. (Dorsey HS)Magnum Rolle, Louisiana Tech, F/C, 6-11, 220, Sr., Freeport, Bahamas (LSU)Dario Hunt, Nevada, F, 6-8, 230, So., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Charis Prep)Pooh Williams, Utah State, G/F, 6-3, 200, Jr., Federal Way, Wash. (Federal Way HS)All-Newcomer TeamDaequon Montreal, Boise State, F, 6-8, 220, Jr., Syracuse, N.Y. (College of Southern Idaho)Greg Smith, Fresno State, C, 6-10, 250, Fr., Fresno, Calif. (Westwind Academy/Edison HS)DeAndre Brown, Louisiana Tech, G, 5-11, 160, Jr., Fort Worth, Texas (Navarro JC)Nate Bendall, Utah State, F, 6-9, 245, Jr., Salt Lake City, Utah (Salt Lake CC)Brian Green, Utah State, G, 6-1, 195, Jr., Kaysville, Utah (Salt Lake CC)

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!