Utah State’s Stew Morrill, Jared Quayle, Tai Wesley and Pooh Williams honored by Sporting News

RENO, Nev. – Utah State’s Stew Morrill was named the Western Athletic Conference’s Coach of the Year by Sporting News and Pooh Williams was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year, while Jared Quayle and Tai Wesley were both named to the league’s first team it was announced Friday. Morrill was also voted the WAC’s Coach of the Year by league’s nine coaches as Utah State went 14-2 in conference play to win its third straight regular season WAC title. Morrill was named the WAC’s Coach of the Year in 2009 as well. Williams, a 6-3, 200-pound junior guard/forward from Federal Way, Wash. (Federal Way HS) became the first Aggie ever to be named to the WAC’s all-defensive team this year. During the season, Williams is averaging 9.0 points, 2.4 assists and 1.8 rebounds per game, while shooting 45.9 percent from the field, 37.6 percent from three-point range and 58.6 percent at the free throw line. Along with being named first-team all-WAC by Sporting News, Quayle was named first-team all-conference by the league’s nine coaches this season. Quayle also earned U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-District VIII honors and was named the WAC’s Most Valuable Player by NetScouts Basketball. Quayle, a 6-1, 180-pound senior guard from Perry, Utah (Box Elder HS/Western Wyoming CC) currently ranks first in the conference in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.47), is third in the league in free throw shooting (.894), fifth in three-point shooting (.424) and assists (4.25), ninth in steals (1.16), 11th in rebounding (6.4) and 15th in scoring (12.0). Wesley, a 6-7, 240-pound junior forward from Provo, Utah (Provo HS) ranks third in the WAC in field goal shooting (.579) and assist-to-turnover ratio (1.98), seventh in blocked shots (1.34), 10th in rebounding (6.5), 11th in assists (3.28), 13th in scoring (13.8) and 15th in free throw shooting (.710). Nevada’s Luke Babbitt was named the WAC’s Player of the Year by Sporting News, while Fresno State’s Greg Smith was named the Freshman of the Year. Other players named first-team all-WAC by Sporting News include Adrian Oliver (San Jose State) and Jahmar Young (New Mexico State). Players named second-team include Jonathan Gibson (New Mexico State), Kyle Gibson (Louisiana Tech), Armon Johnson (Nevada), Paul George (Fresno State) and Magnum Rolle (Louisiana Tech). -USU-

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!