Utah State’s Stew Morrill named NABC co-Coach of the Year

RENO, Nev. – Utah State men’s basketball coach Stew Morrill continued to receive national attention Friday and was named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) District 6 co-Coach of the Year along with Northern Colorado’s Tad Boyle.Also on Friday, Morrill was named a finalist for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award for the second straight season. Morrill was also named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association District VIII Coach of the Year in 2009. Morrill has led Utah State to a 27-6 record during the 2009-10 season including its third-straight regular season WAC Championship as USU finished the year with a 14-2 league mark. USU is currently riding a 17-game winning streak, which ranks tied for third in school history, and is the second-longest active winning streak in the nation behind Butler who has won 20 straight.During Morrill’s tenure, Utah State has won at least a share of six regular season league titles to go along with five tournament championships. Utah State also owns the nation’s fourth-best winning percentage during the last 11 years (.767), and has posted 11 straight 23-win seasons and advanced to 10 straight postseasons (6-NCAA, 4-NIT), both of which are school records.Morrill, who is in his 12th year at Utah State and 24th season as a collegiate head coach, has a 294-97 (.751) record with the Aggies and a 512-235 (.685) overall mark. Among active Division I coaches, Morrill ranks 19th in the nation in wins and 24th in winning percentage. He is also one of just 19 active coaches with 500 career victories and one of just 12 active coaches to post 20 or more wins at least 15 times.As a collegiate head coach, Morrill has been named conference coach of the year five times, winning the award in 1991 while at Montana, and in 2000 and 2002 when Utah State was a member of the Big West Conference, and 2009 and 2010 as a member of the WAC.The Skip Prosser Award was established in 2008 to honor recipients who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity off of it as well. Prosser posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach. During his time at Wake Forest, his teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in arguably the nation’s most difficult league, the Atlantic Coast Conference.The Citadel’s Ed Conroy was the winner of the 2009 award and Notre Dame’s Mike Brey won the inaugural award in 2008. This year’s award will be presented on April 2 in Indianapolis.Other finalists for the Skip Prosser Award include Murry Bartow (East Tennessee State), Bill Carmody (Northwestern), Jamie Dixon (Pittsburgh), Fran Dunphy (Temple), Greg Kampe (Oakland), Billy Kennedy (Murray State), Chris Mack (Xavier), Bob Marlin (Sam Houston State), Eric Reveno (Portland), Dave Rose (BYU), Kevin Stallings (Vanderbilt), Brad Stevens (Butler), Mike Young (Wofford) and Ted Woodward (Maine).- USU –

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!