USU students recognized as Goldwater Scholars

Three Utah State University students are 2011 Goldwater Scholars and one Aggie received honorable mention in a prestigious national competition established by Congress that recognizes outstanding undergraduate achievements in science and mathematics.Linsey Johnson, Brooke Siler and Brian Tracy are recipients of the award, which is administered by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. Karen Nielson received honorable mention. With this year’s honorees, USU boasts 18 Goldwater Scholars and seven honorable mention recipients since 1998. Scholarship award recipients receive up to $7,500 toward annual tuition and expenses.USU leads the state in the number of 2011 awardees. USU’s honorees, who represent the university’s College of Science and College of Engineering, are members of the USU Honors Program and actively involved in undergraduate research.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!