Federal government recognizes drought in every Utah county

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) — The ongoing Western drought has landed every Utah county on a disaster declaration list from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The Salt Lake Tribune reports that Gov. Gary Herbert received a letter this week from U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack informing him that Duchesne and Uintah counties have been added to the list. The rest of the counties were already on it.

The designation means farmers in all 29 Utah counties can request low-interest emergency loans.

Utah farmers are suffering from not having enough water due to a below-average snowpack.

It’s not just farmers who are feeling the impact of the drought. Limits on outdoor watering during the hottest times of the day have been in place for several years in several Utah cities and towns.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!