More than 50 former Aggies to participate in men’s basketball reunion Saturday

Utah State head coach Stew Morrill encourages his team in the first half of an NCAA college basketball game against San Diego State, Saturday, Jan. 31, 2015, in San Diego. (AP Photo/Lenny Ignelzi)

LOGAN, Utah – More than 50 former Utah State men’s basketball players and coaches will converge in Logan this weekend as part of the annual USU men’s basketball reunion. The group will take part in several events on Saturday, including a Legends Game that will be open to the public from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. in the Wayne Estes Center.

The group includes several memorable Aggies, including 1980 Big West Player of the Year Dean Hunger (1977-80), three-time all-Big West selection Brian Jackson (1978-81), 1989 Big West Freshman of the Year and two-time all-Big West honoree Kendall Youngblood (1989-92), 1995 Big West Player of the Year and three-time all-Big West honoree Eric Franson (1991, 1994-96), two-time all-Big West honoree and 2002 Basketball News All-American Tony Brown (1999-02) and three-time all-conference selection Nate Harris (2003-06).

Many of the group will be coming as part of the halftime celebration to honor USU All-American Wayne Estes, marking 50 years since the All-American tragically passed on the night of Feb. 8, 1965, the same night that he eclipsed 2,000 points for his career. Former head coach LaDell Andersen and 10 of Estes’ teammates will join in remembrance, including Alan Parrish (1962-67), Phil Johnson (1962-63), Reid Goldsberry (1962-63), Clarence Jones (1964-67), Hal Hale (1964-67), LeRoy Walker (1964-65), Del Lyons (1964), Steve Skinner (1965-67), Peter Ennenga (1965-67) and Tom Stewart (1966-68).

Other members of the group will include former players under Stew Morrill who will be in the crowd to see the veteran head coach in his final regular season game in the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum. The group of former players coached by Morrill include Harris, Brown, Jimmie Edwards (2004-05), Chris Huber (2004-06), John Neil (2003), Toraino Johnson (2002-03) and Brennan Ray (1999-02).

Players will also be joined by a pair of former head coaches in Rod Tueller (1981-88) and Dutch Belnap (1975-79). The senior-most members of the group will be made up of a trio that wore the USU colors in the 50’s, including Marlin Shields (1954-55), Dick Sackett (1954-57) and Frank Condie (1952-53).

One of the highlights of the reunion will be the Legends Basketball Game, which will take place on Kirby Court at the Wayne Estes Center from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. on Saturday afternoon. Fans are welcome to attend the event, which will be free of charge. The rest of the day will include facility tours for members of the reunion, a dinner later that evening followed by the men’s basketball regular season finale when Utah State hosts Colorado State at 7 p.m. (MT) in the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum.

The group will then be recognized at halftime of the game in front of what is anticipated to be a sell-out crowd.

Fans can still purchase tickets to Saturday night’s game in the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum by calling the USU Athletics Ticket Office at 1-888-USTATE-1 or 435-797-0305 or by going online to

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!