Mormon Church names former Cache Valley resident Gary E. Stevenson among three new apostles

Elder Ronald A. Rasband, Elder Gary E. Stevenson and Elder Dale G. Renlund were named to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints on Saturday, October 3, 2015.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced three new members of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, the top governing body that sets policy and runs the faith’s business operations.

Church leader Henry B. Eyring, a member of the quorum, announced the selections at the Church’s Saturday afternoon conference in Salt Lake City. The new members are Ronald A. Rasband, Gary E. Stevenson and Dale G. Renlund.

Elder Rasband was previously serving as the senior president in the Presidency of the Seventy. He became a general authority of the Church in April of 2000.

Elder Stevenson was serving as the Presiding Bishop of the Church since March 2012 and previously served in the First Quorum of the Seventy, to which he was called in 2008. He is a former resident of Cache Valley, graduate of Utah State University and former COO of ICON Health and Fitness.

Elder Renlund had served in the First Quorum of the Seventy since April 2009.

It had been six years since a new quorum member was chosen, and more than a decade since the leadership council had two openings. The last time there were three was in 1906.

Quorum members serve until they die, and three recent deaths of L. Tom Perry, Boyd K. Packer and Richard G. Scott created the unprecedented void.

The selections prove outside church scholars wrong who speculated that one of the selections would be a person from outside North America or Europe.

<hr /><p style=”text-align: center;”>

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!