Elections in Newton and Paradise cancelled, but not in Clarkston

Elections for city council seats in Newton and Paradise were cancelled this month but Clarkston will have an election.

A city council candidate’s withdrawal from the race in Paradise has led to canceling that city election. The remaining candidates, Martell Love and Vic Little, will take their seats on the council with current members Kyle Smith and Spencer Winn who both have two years remaining in their four-year terms.

Longtime Paradise city council members Margaret O’Bray and Jay Rinderknecht did not file for re-election.

In Newton, since incumbent city councilmen Matt Phillips and Jed Woodward are the only ones that filed for the two open four-year seats, that election has also been cancelled.

Four candidates seeking the two open four-year seats on the Clarkston City Council are Gail Godfrey, Elaine Goodey, Ryan Thompson and Benjamin Burt. In the run for a two-year seat in Clarkston incumbent Richard Calderwood is opposed by Lloyd Bytheway.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!