Smith and Moore named All-Conference by Mountain West Media

LOGAN, Utah – Utah State junior wing Jalen Moore and senior guard Chris Smith have been named all-Mountain West third-team by members of the media that follow the conference. The accolades are the second straight for both players from the media, having collected second-team and honorable mention recognition, respectively, last season.

Smith leads the Aggies this year in scoring, averaging 15.2 points per game and ranks among the Mountain West best in several categories. Smith is second in field goal percentage (.495) and 3-point field goal percentage (.450), sixth in 3-point baskets per game (2.0) and eighth in scoring (15.2 ppg). He is third on the team in rebounds per game, collecting 5.4 per game, and assists on the year, totaling 59.

Moore is just behind Smith in scoring, averaging 15.1 points per game, but leads the Aggies on the glass, averaging 5.8 rebounds per game. Moore is in the top-10 of the league in scoring (ninth) and top-20 of the league in rebounding (14th). Moore is also one of the top players in the league in minutes per game, ranking fifth (34.9 mpg), and is also among the best in field goal percentage, ranking sixth (.439).

The Mountain West is anticipated to release its official all-conference honorees on Tuesday.

Smith and Moore will return to the court for the Aggies when Utah State opens its Mountain West Men’s Basketball Championship run against No. 8 Wyoming on Wednesday, March 9 at Noon (MT) at the Thomas & Mack Center.

For Mountain West Tournament information, fans can contact the USU Athletics Ticket Office over the phone by calling 1-888-USTATE-1 or 435-797-0305 during regular hours of operation. Fans can also buy their tickets in person at the USU Ticket Office inside the Dee Glen Smith Spectrum or online by clicking on the “Buy Tickets” tab at

Utah State men’s basketball news and information is available on Facebook (’sbasketball) and on Twitter (@Aggiehoops). Fans can also get USU men’s basketball highlights on YouTube ( Aggie fans can follow the Utah State athletic program on Twitter (@usuathletics), on Facebook ( or on Instagram (@usuathletics).

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>Player of the Year</strong></span>

Josh Adams, Wyoming

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>Coach of the Year</strong></span>

Steve Fisher, San Diego State

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>Newcomer of the Year</strong></span>

Elijah Brown, New Mexico

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>Freshman of the Year</strong></span>

Cameron Oliver, Nevada

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>Defensive Player of the Year</strong></span>

Skylar Spencer, San Diego State

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>Sixth Man of the Year</strong></span>

Tyron Criswell, Nevada

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>All-Mountain West First Team</strong></span>

Josh Adams, Wyoming

Marvelle Harris, Fresno State

James Webb III, Boise State

Elijah Brown, New Mexico

Tim Williams, New Mexico

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>All-Mountain West Second Team</strong></span>

Marqueze Coleman, Nevada

Winston Shepard, San Diego State

Patrick McCaw, UNLV

Cameron Oliver, Nevada

Antwan Scott, Colorado State

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>All-Mountain West Third Team</strong></span>

Jalen Moore, Utah State

Chris Smith, Utah State

Jeremy Hemsley, San Diego State

Trey Kell, San Diego State

Mikey Thompson, Boise State

<span style=”text-decoration: underline;”><strong>All-Mountain West Honorable Mention</strong></span>

Hayden Graham, Air Force

Anthony Drmic, Boise State

Emmanuel Omogbo, Colorado State

Tiel Daniels, Colorado State

Skylar Spencer, San Diego State

Cullen Russo, Fresno State

Stephen Zimmerman Jr., UNLV

Jason McManamen, Wyoming

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Posted in USU