Two USU women’s basketball players earn All-Mountain West honors

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – Two Utah State women’s basketball players have earned all-Mountain West honors, as announced by the conference on Monday. Sophomore guard Funda Nakkasoglu was named to the all-Mountain West team, while freshman guard Rachel Brewster was selected to the all-Freshman Team.

Nakkasoglu becomes the fifth and youngest Utah State player in program history to be named to an all-conference first-team. She joins Danyelle Snelgro, Ashlee Brown, Devyn Christensen and Jennifer Schlott in the honor. Brown and Christensen both earned all-Wester Athletic Conference first-team honors twice in their careers. Brewster is the third-ever USU freshman to receive all-Freshman team accolades, joining Snelgro and Taylor Richards.

Nakkasoglu led the team and the Mountain West in scoring this season, averaging 21.5 points per game in conference play. She continued to etch her name in the Utah State record books this year, securing places on nine career record lists. Nakkasoglu became the youngest player in USU history to reach 1,000 career points. She enters the Mountain West Championship with 611 points on the year, the third-most by a USU player in a single season.

Brewster joined the Utah State program, making an immediate impact this season. Starting all but one game, Brewster averaged 9.7 points and a team-best 5.7 rebounds in Mountain West competition. The defensive captain averaged 31.6 minutes per game in conference play, anchoring the Aggies and helping the team to match its best Mountain West record in the three years in the league.

The 11 Mountain West women’s basketball coaches chose Colorado State junior Ellen Nystrom as the Mountain West Women’s Basketball Player of the Year. Fresno State sophomore Bego Faz Davalos was awarded Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Boise State rookie Marta Hermida was chosen as the Freshman of the Year. San José State’s Dezz Ramos was recognized as the Newcomer of the Year and Spartan’s senior Riana Byrd was named 6th Player of the Year. Colorado State head coach Ryun Williams earned his second MW Coach of the Year honor after guiding the Rams to an undefeated Conference season and CSU’s third consecutive regular season crown.

The Aggies are the seventh seed in the upcoming Mountain West Championship, taking on 10th-seeded Nevada on Monday, March 7 at 5:30 p.m. (MT). The winner will take on No. 2 Fresno State on Tuesday, March 8 at 7 p.m. (MT)

Fans can watch all of the live MWN broadcasts for free, whether live or on-demand, on the Mountain West Network at These broadcasts will also be available on each institution’s official athletics website, as well as on Fans can also download the official mobile applications of the Mountain West and Campus Insiders. All USU games will also be broadcast on the radio on 107.7 KLZX in Cache Valley, as well as an online stream, with Craig Hislop on the call. Live stats and play-by-play information will be available through GameTracker, while updates will also be provided through the team’s social media outlets. Links to each option will be available online prior to every game.

Fans can follow USU women’s basketball on Twitter, @UtahStateWBB, on Instagram, @USUWBasketball, as well as on Facebook, at USUWBB. Aggie fans can also follow Utah State Athletics on Twitter, @USUAthletics, on Instagram, @USUAthletics and on Facebook at Utah State University Athletics.

Aggie women’s basketball tickets will be available by contacting the USU Athletics Ticket Office at (435) 797-0305 or at 1-888-U-STATE-1 (1-888-878-2831) for more information or visit the Utah State athletics web site at

<strong><span style=”text-decoration: underline;”>2015-16 All-Mountain West Honors</span></strong>

<em><strong>All-Mountain West Team</strong></em>

Brooke Pahukoa, Jr., G, Boise State

Shalen Shaw, So., G, Boise State

!^Ellen Nystrom, Jr., G, Colorado State

Jamie Patrick, Sr., G, Colorado State

Keyora Wharry, Sr., G, Colorado State

Bego Faz Davalos, So., C, Fresno State

Cherise Beynon, So., G, New Mexico

Dezz Ramos, Jr., G, San José State

Funda Nakkasoglu, So., G, Utah State

^Marquelle Dent, Sr., G, Wyoming

<em><strong>Honorable Mention</strong></em>

Miquelle Askew, Sr., C, Boise State

Toni Smith, Sr., F/C, Fresno State

Nyasha LeSure, Sr., F, Nevada

Khadijah Shumpert, Sr., F, New Mexico

McKynzie Fort, So., G, San Diego State

Dakota Gonzalez, So., G, UNLV

<em><strong>All-Defensive Team</strong></em>

^Ellen Nystrom, Jr., G, Colorado State

Bego Faz Davalos, So., C, Fresno State

Khadijah Shumpert, Sr., F, New Mexico

McKynzie Fort, So., G, San Diego State

^Marquelle Dent, Sr., G, Wyoming

<em><strong>All-Freshman Team</strong></em>

Marta Hermida, Fr., G, Boise State

Breanne Knishka, Fr., G/F, Fresno State

Riana Everidge, Fr., G, Nevada

Jaisa Nunn, Fr., C, New Mexico

Rachel Brewster, Fr., G, Utah State

Marta Gomez, Fr., F, Wyoming

<strong>Player of the Year:</strong> Ellen Nystrom, Jr., G, Colorado State

<strong>Defensive Player of the Year:</strong> Bego Faz Davalos, So., C, Fresno State

<strong>Newcomer of the Year:</strong> Dezz Ramos, Jr., G, San José State

<strong>Freshman of the Year:</strong> Marta Hermida, Fr., G, Boise State

<strong>Sixth Player of the Year:</strong> Riana Byrd, Sr., C, San José State

<strong>Coach of the Year:</strong> Ryun Williams, Colorado State

^ 2014-15 All-MW/Defensive team selection

! 2013-14 All-MW/Defensive team selection


Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Posted in USU