Maggard and Brooksby named Male and Female Athlete of the Year for USU

LOGAN, Utah – Utah State junior Dillon Maggard and senior Jessica Brooksby were named the Male and Female Athlete of the Year, respectively, at the annual Robins Awards, taking place on Saturday, April 16, on the campus of Utah State University.

Maggard earned second-team All-American honors during the indoor season, finishing 13th in the mile with a school-record time of 4:01.25 at the NCAA Indoor National Championships. Maggard became just the second Aggie to earn All-American honors during the cross country season, finishing 12th at the NCAA Cross Country Championship with a time of 31:03.09. On the way to the national championship, Maggard earned all-Mountain Region honors, placing eighth with a time of 31:03.20, the top finish by any runner among Mountain West schools. Maggard led the Aggies to a fourth-place finish at the Mountain West Championships, earning first-team all-Mountain West honors after finishing fourth with a time of 24:08.10.

Other nominees for Male Athlete of the Year included track & field senior AJ Boully, men’s tennis junior Jaime Barajas, men’s basketball senior Jalen Moore, football senior Travis Seefeldt and men’s golf senior Tanner Jenson.

Brooksby earned first-team all-Mountain West honors in addition to being named second-team all-Pacific Region by the NSCAA. Brooksby played in all 21 matches during the year, starting in 19 and led the Aggies with nine goals, taking 68 shots with 31 on goal. Brooksby recorded two assists for the Aggies during the Mountain West Tournament, earning all-tournament team honors and totaled 11 assists on the year to set a new single-season record. Brooksby also excelled in the classroom, earning academic all-Mountain West honors.

Other nominees for Female Athlete of the Year included women’s basketball senior Antoina Robinson, track & field sophomore Brenn Flint, volleyball senior Hannah Gleason, women’s tennis senior Nini Guensler, track & field sophomore Kashley Carter, gymnastics sophomore Madison Ward and softball senior Victoria Saucedo.

Finalists for the Athlete of the Year were selected by members of the athletics department. A selection committee over these categories then selected the winners. The awards were just two of 21 honors extended by the University during the evening, with students, faculty and staff all receiving recognition to their individual contributions to Utah State.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.