Three Aggie softball players earn All-Mountain West honors

LOGAN, Utah – Three Utah State softball players have earned all-Mountain West accolades, announced by the league Wednesday, as freshman pitcher Kellie White earned first-team honors, and senior second baseman Victoria Saucedo and freshman outfielder Riley Plogger were named to the second team.

This is the third-straight season the Aggies have garnered at least three all-conference accolades. White is the first USU freshman to earn first-team honors since Saucedo did so in 2014, and is just the sixth freshman in program history to do so. This is the third all-conference honor for Saucedo, who was named the Mountain West Freshman of the Year and to the first team in 2014, while she picked up second-team recognition a year ago.

In her debut year in the circle, White quickly made a name for herself. She finished the year with a 9-4 individual record against conference opponents, going 18-6 overall. She has the second-most wins of any freshman pitcher in school history, behind Mary Lou Ramm who went 27-12 in her freshman season. White ranked fourth among all pitchers in the conference in league play with a 3.25 ERA, pitching 90.1 innings. She tallied 47 strikeouts in Mountain West play, while allowing 42 earned runs.

Plogger also had a strong freshman campaign, as she hit a team-high .367 (22-of-60) in Mountain West play. She tallied 14 RBIs while scoring 15 runs of her own. In the outfield, Plogger tallied 30 putouts and two assists and was one of 12 conference players to have a perfect fielding percentage through league play.

Saucedo earns the third all-conference honor of her career, as she hit .311 (23-of-74) against Mountain West opponents. In conference play, Saucedo had a team-high 23 hits, including five doubles and three home runs. She was also strong defensively for the Aggies, finishing the conference season with 46 putouts and 36 assists, while committing only two errors. She is the fifth Utah State player to earn three or more all-conference honors, and the first to do so since DeAnna Earsley, whose career ended in 1993. Saucedo secured a spot on several career and single-season record lists this season, including taking the top spot on the all-time runs and total bases lists, along with the second-place hold in home runs and RBIs.

San Diego State junior catcher Jenavee Peres was named the Mountain West Player of the Year, while Fresno State picked up its third-straight Pitcher of the Year honor in sophomore Kamalani Dung. Colorado State senior shortstop Haley Hutton was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while SDSU shortstop Shelby Thompson was given the Freshman of the Year accolade. San José State head coach Peter Turner earned the Coach of the Year honor after leading his team to its first league title since joining the Mountain West.

Fans can follow the Aggie softball program on Twitter, @USUSoftball, on Facebook at /USUSoftball or on Instagram, @ususoftball. Aggie fans can also follow the Utah State athletic program on Twitter, @USUAthletics, Facebook at /USUAthletics and on Instagram, @USUAthletics.

2017 Mountain West All-Conference First Team

Name Team

Pos. Yr.

Rebekah Cervantes* Boise State SS


Haley Hutton* Colorado State

SS Sr.

Kamalani Dung Fresno State


Morgan Howe Fresno State

OF So.

Aaliyah Gibson Nevada

OF Jr.

Erika Hansen Nevada

OF Jr.

Sydnee Cable San Diego State

1B Sr.

Zaria Meshack San Diego State

OF Jr.

Jenavee Peres* San Diego State

C Jr.

Molly Sturdivant San Diego State 3B


Shelby Thompson San Diego State SS


Madison Aurin San José State

1B So.

Cassidy Clark San José State

2B Fr.

Katelyn Linford San José State RHP


Kellie White Utah State


2017 Mountain West All-Conference Second Team

Name Team

Pos. Yr.

Morgan Lamb Boise State

DP So.

Hannah McCorkhill Colorado State 1B


Vanessa Hernandez Fresno State OF


Malia Rivers*** Fresno State DP


Kenzi Goins Nevada

1B Fr.

McKenna Isenberg Nevada RHP


Chelsea Johnson New Mexico C/DP


Katie Byrd San Diego State

2B R-So.

Georgia Blair San José State

RF Fr.

Chelsea Jenner San José State

LF Sr.

Colette Riggs San José State


Brianna Gatlin UNLV

OF Sr.

Janine Petmecky UNLV OF


Riley Plogger Utah State

OF Fr.

Victoria Saucedo** Utah State 2B


Player of the Year: Jenavee Peres, Jr., C, San Diego State

Pitcher of the Year: Kamalani Dung, So., RHP, Fresno State

Defensive Player of the Year: Haley Hutton, Sr., SS, Colorado State

Freshman of the Year: Shelby Thompson, SS, San Diego State

Coach of the Year: Peter Turner, San José State

***= three-time second-team honoree

**= two-time second-team honoree

*= two-time first-team honoree


Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.