Pipo Derani drives Nissan to victory in 12 Hours of Sebring

SEBRING, Fla. (AP) — Pipo Derani, Johannes van Overbeek and Nicolas Lapierre teamed to give Nissan a victory in the 12 Hours of Sebring endurance race Saturday.

Derani took the checkered flag in the No. 29 entry, crossing the finish line 12.5 seconds ahead of Renger Van Der Zande in the No. 10 Cadillac. Felipe Nasr was third in another Cadillac.

Filipe Albuquerque, Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi, who teamed up to win the season-opening Rolex 24 at Daytona, finished 20 laps behind in 16th. The two Acura entries for Team Penske, with stars Juan Pablo Montoya, Ricky Taylor, Graham Rahal and Helio Castroneves behind the wheel, finished 40th and 41st.

Nick Tandy, Frederic Makowiecki and Patrick Pilet put Porsche atop the podium in the GT Le Mans class. Bryan Sellers, Madison Snow and Corey Lewis drove a Lamborghini to the win in the GT Daytona class.

The Chip Ganassi Racing entries finished fourth and last in the nine-car GTLM class.


More AP auto racing: <a target=”&mdash;blank” href=”http://www.racing.ap.org”>www.racing.ap.org</a>

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.