Falslev, Rice and Van Leeuwen receive Region 12 honors

For the first time ever, the Cache Valley Media Group has created an All-Region 12 Team, along with naming an Offensive MVP, a Defensive MVP and Coach of the Year. This season there were six unique broadcast teams following every school in Region 12. After following every game, our crew has named Sky View quarterback Mason Falslev as the Offensive MVP, Logan linebacker Kade Rice as the Defensive MVP and Logan head coach Travis Van Leeuwen as the region’s Coach of the Year.

Mason Falslev – Offensive MVP

In 2018, Falslev switched positions from wide receiver to handle the quarterback duties and still, Sky View went through the regular season without a loss. Even though he missed the first two games because of an injury, Falslev was the best athlete on the field in Region 12.

He just brings a different element to the offense, especially when he scrambles,” says “Hurricane” John Newbold, play-by-play announcer for the Sky View Bobcats on 106.9 The FAN. “He is an athlete that can be used in any part of the offense. I also like his leadership. When the ball is in his hand, good things happen. He does things that others can’t.”

During the regular season, Falslev accounted for nearly 1500 yards of offense and 12 touchdowns: 797 yards and 3 TDs through the air, and 682 yards and 9 TDs on the ground.

Kade Rice – Defensive MVP

Logan High School saw an incredible turn around in one season. One key reason for that was an improved defense. And the player who anchored that defense was linebacker Kade Rice.

“You can tell he’s a hard-nosed, stick-his-nose-into-every-play defender,” says Al Lewis, play-by-play announcer for the Logan High Grizzlies on KVNU 610 AM / 102.1 FM. “He was almost always the right guy at the right spot to make a play. You can tell he loves to play football.”

Rice accounted for 112 tackles, 5 tackles for loss and 2 sacks. Nobody in Region 12 had more tackles in 2018 than Rice.

Travis Van Leeuwen – Coach of the Year

In 2017, Logan finished the year without a win in Region 12 and 2-8 overall. The offense only accounted for less than 16 points a game while giving up nearly 36. Rookie head coach Travis Van Leeuwen turned the Logan season around quickly as the Grizzlies finished 2nd in the region with only one loss.

“It’s amazing how fast they turned around the culture at Logan High,” Lewis says. “That team was excited before the first game. The coaches told the team they would give them a plan to win, and the team bought into it. Before the season began, he convinced them they could win, and they bought in. He brought an enthusiasm that clicked.”

The former Utah State University wide receiver completely flipped the season for Logan High, helping the Grizzlies finish 9-2 overall, 4-1 in Region 12.

The following is a list of players named to the All Region 12 Team, as voted on by members of the Cache Valley Media Group sports staff* who followed Region 12 this year.


Offensive Line – Tennyson Hadfield (Logan)

Offensive Line – Kyle Truex (Logan)

Offensive Line – Hunter Larsen (Sky View)

Offensive Line – Dawson Beutler (Sky View)

Offensive Line – Max Hansen (Mountain Crest)

Tight End – Zeb Niemann (Ridgeline)

Wide Receiver – Chance Parker (Ridgeline)

Wide Receiver – Timm Van Leeuwen (Logan)

Running Back – Tanner Stokes (Sky View)

Running Back – Bret Gasaway (Green Canyon)

Quarter Back – Johnny Parkinson (Logan)


Defensive End – Trave Jenson (Green Canyon)

Defensive End – Wyatt Jeppesen (Bear River)

Defensive Tackle – Cole Smith (Sky View)

Defensive Tackle – Edgardo Huerta (Mountain Crest)

Linebacker – Elijah Jackson (Mountain Crest)

Linebacker – Hunter Schroeder (Mountain Crest)

Linebacker – Christopher Shopbell (Logan)

Defensive Back – Isaac Larsen (Logan)

Defensive Back – Caleb Christensen (Sky View)

Defensive Back – Camden Olsen (Mountain Crest)

Defensive Back – Parker Coombs (Bear River)

Kicker – Ethan Delisle (Green Canyon)


Brady Hall (Mountain Crest), Jace Dart (Mountain Crest), Kade Thornley (Logan), Jonny Coffin (Logan), Dylan Buttars (Logan), Kevin Nye (Logan), Jack Radford (Green Canyon), McKay Yorgason (Green Canyon), Tristen Reece (Green Canyon), Nate Corry (Green Canyon), Danilo Robinson (Sky View), Ryder Lundahl (Sky View), Tony Torres (Sky View), Caleb Christensen (Sky View), Traeson Martindale (Sky View), Evan Hall (Sky View), Scout Morris (Sky View), Kason Erickson (Sky View), Junior Damuni (Ridgeline),


*Voting members include “Hurricane” John Newbold, Al Lewis, Craig Hislop, Mitch Henline, Rex Davis, Dave Simmons, Clint Payne, Eric Frandsen

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.