Lexi Orozco earns First-Team All-Mountain West honors

LOGAN, Utah – Utah State freshman shortstop Lexi Orozco has been named to the all-Mountain West first team, as announced by the league Wednesday.

Orozco is the seventh freshman in Utah State history to earn first-team all-conference accolades, and the third to do so in the Mountain West era. In all, she is the fifth Aggie to earn first-team all-Mountain West honors. Orozco is one of five freshmen to earn all-Mountain West honors this season.

In Mountain West play this season, Orozco batted a team-best .313 (21-of-67), hitting four doubles and seven home runs. She scored 12 runs and batted in another 24. Defensively, Orozco tallied 26 putouts and 59 assists in her 23 starts. Orozco finished the year ranked in the top-10 of four Mountain West categories and is the highest-ranked freshman in three of those four.

Colorado State senior catcher Amber Nelson was named the Mountain West Player of the Year, San José State freshman Jenessa Ullegue earned the Pitcher of the Year title. UNLV sophomore infielder Samantha Diaz and San José State junior infielder Cassidy Clark shared co-Defensive Player of the Year honors, and Fresno State outfielder McKenzie Wilson was named the Freshman of the Year. Colorado State head coach Jen Fisher earned the Coach of the Year title after leading the Rams to the Mountain West title.

Fans can follow the Aggie softball program on Twitter, @USUSoftball, on Facebook at /USUSoftball or on Instagram, @ususoftball. Aggie fans can also follow the Utah State athletic program on Twitter, @USUAthletics, Facebook at /USUAthletics and on Instagram, @USUAthletics.



Player of the Year: Amber Nelson, Sr., C/D, Colorado State

Pitcher of the Year: Jenessa Ullegue, Fr., OF/RHP, San José State

Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Samantha Diaz, So., SS/3B, UNLV and Cassidy Clark, Jr., INF, San José State

Freshman of the Year: McKenzie Wilson, Fr., OF, Fresno State

Coach of the Year: Jen Fisher, Colorado State


All-MW First Team:

#6 Ashlyn Adams, So., RF, Boise State

#14 Rebekah Cervantes, Sr., SS, Boise State

#11 Bradie Fillmore, Jr., 3B, Boise State

#7 Kora Wade, Sr., CF, Boise State

#12 Amber Nelson, Sr., C/D, Colorado State

#18 Ashley Ruiz, Jr., 1B/DP, Colorado State

#11 Tara Shadowen, So., OF, Colorado State

#21 McKenzie Wilson, Fr., OF, Fresno State

#14 Sadaria McAlister, Jr., OF, Nevada

#20 Shelby Thompson, Jr., SS, San Diego State

#42 Alyssa Graham, Fr., INF, San José State

#29 Jenessa Ullegue, Fr., OF/RHP, San José State

#6 Jenny Bressler, Fr., P, UNLV

#7 Justine Federe, Jr., 2B, UNLV

#15 Mia Trejo, So., 1B, UNLV

#1 Lexi Orozco, Fr., SS, Utah State


All-MW Second Team:

#23 Jessica McKay, Jr., LF, Boise State

#21 Lauren Buchanan, Sr., C/UT, Colorado State

#13 Bridgette Hutton, Sr., P, Colorado State

#4 Ashley Michelena, So., OF, Colorado State

#8 Schuylar Broussard, Jr., 3B, Fresno State

#7 Hailey Dolcini, So., P, Fresno State

#15 Hayleigh Galvan, Jr., DP, Fresno State

#20 Danielle Lung, Fr., P, Fresno State

#35 Dallas Millwood, Fr., 1B, Nevada

#10 Cameryn O’Grady, Jr., SS, New Mexico

#99 Taylor Adams, So., 1B, San Diego State

#9 Alicia Garcia, Jr., P, San Diego State

#33 Marissa Moreno, Jr., P, San Diego State

#13 Madison Aurin, Sr., RHP/INF, San José State

#11 Caroline Bowman, So., RHP, San José State

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.