Science Dean is the first from USU elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Utah State University Dean of Science, Dr. Maura Hagan, is the first USU faculty member ever elected to the National Academy of Sciences, an organization of the country’s leading researchers.

Dr. Hagan said her research specialty is Space Physics.

“I study the earth’s outer atmosphere, which a lot of people would consider space, empty space,” Dr. Hagan explained. “Actually, there is a tenuous atmosphere. My area of expertise is understanding the dynamics and variability of that part of the earth’s outer atmosphere.” 

She said the College of Science has outstanding educators and researchers and this year’s opening of USU’s new Life Sciences Building has been exciting.

“To be able to work in a state-of-the art, 21st century building is a wonderful thing for our students, for their training. To be part of that was really fun.”

Dr. Hagan was named the dean of the College of Science in 2015. She is among 100 U.S. scientists and 25 international associates elected this year to the National Academy of Sciences.

In a press release, USU President Noelle Cockett praised Dr. Hagan for her work and leadership.

“Dean Hagan not only continues her groundbreaking contributions to atmospheric research but, by her leadership and service, is guiding USU’s scientific research and teaching efforts toward a successful future,” said Cockett. “We celebrate her well-deserved recognition from the NAS.”

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.