Candidates file for city councils throughout Cache Valley

Friday afternoon at 5 p.m. was the deadline for residents to register their intent to file for city council in their respective communities. Some are first-time candidates, others are incumbents hoping to stay in office, while others have run before without success and are hoping this will be the year for them.

Logan is the largest city in Cache County and its candidates for three 4-year open seats include:

  • Mark A. Anderson
  • Ken Heare
  • Keegan Garrity
  • Jeannie F. Simmonds (incumbent)
  • Tom Jensen (incumbent)
  • Abraham E. Verdoes
  • Lynsey Rose Kinchea
  • Gary Poore
  • David P. James

Incumbent city councilman Herm Olsen did not file for reelection. With so many filing in Logan, there will be a Primary Election on August 13, 2019. After the primary, the top six candidates will advance to the General Election on November 5th.

A total of eight candidates have declared candidacy in Nibley. A primary will also be necessary in Nibley. The candidates include:

  • Tom Berhhardt (incumbent)
  • Ciera M. Stout
  • Kay Sweeten
  • Nathan Laursen
  • Tim Ramirez (incumbent)
  • C.J. Pink
  • Larry Jacobsen (incumbent)
  • Rodney Tripp

Smithfield is looking to fill three council seats to serve 4-year terms. A primary election will not be necessary. Candidates include:

  • Bart Caley (incumbent)
  • Curtis Wall (incumbent)
  • Deon Gibbons Hunker (incumbent)
  • Jon Wells
  • Lynn Godderidge

Hyrum has three council positions. A primary election will not be necessary. Candidates include:

  • Steve Adams (incumbent)
  • Bart Baird
  • Jeff Hertzler
  • Vicky McCombs
  • R. Val Milne
  • Craig Rassmussen (incumbent)

In North Logan, Damon Cann has been the acting mayor and filed to fulfill the remaining two years. No other candidate declared a candidacy for mayor. There are three 4-year seats open for the North Logan City Council. Those candidates include:

  • Roger T. Anderson (incumbent)
  • Sarah Baca
  • Buzzy A. Mullahkhel
  • Craig Humphrey (incumbent)
  • Elaine Nelson

In Providence, there are three 4-year seats open for election this year. There is also one 2-year seat open that will fulfill the remaining term from Jeff Baldwin. Baldwin resigned in April 2018 and passed away two days later. He was replaced on the council by Brent Fresz. Because of the number of candidates who filed, a Primary Election will be necessary in Providence. The candidates for the three 4-year seats include:

  • Rowan Cecil
  • Laura Banda
  • Brent Speth
  • Jon Mock
  • Frank Montoya, Jr.
  • Carrie Kirk (incumbent)
  • Joshua Paulsen
  • Ralph Daniels

The candidates for the one 2-year seat include:

  • Don Calderwood
  • Jeanell Sealy
  • Blair Martin

All municipal council races in Cache County are non-partisan.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.