Multiple teachers receive end-of-year awards in Cache County School District

The school year is over and all of the awards have been handed out. Some of those awards went specifically to teachers for their hard work and connections to students in the classroom. With the help of local business sponsors, the Cache Education Foundation delivered Hats Off awards to 16 teachers throughout the district. Each award came with a $500 check which was given directly to the teacher in front of his or her entire studentbody during an end-of-year assembly.

Dozens and dozens of teachers were nominated throughout the district by students, parents and community members for their impact in the classroom. A committee reviewed each nomination and awarded the teachers who fit the criteria.

The following teachers were recognized as Hats Off recipients for the 2018-19 academic school year:

  • Holli Jackson – Birch Creek Elementary School
  • Ron Stott – Cache High School
  • Brad Hawkes – Canyon Elementary School
  • Renee Hawkes – Cedar Ridge Elementary School
  • Zina Tsai – Cedar Ridge Elementary School
  • Randall Beach – Green Canyon High School
  • Jill Wanner – Lewiston Elementary School
  • Whintie Crosbie – Millville Elementary School
  • Blake Heaton – Mountain Crest High School
  • Shalon Hansen – Mountainside Elementary School
  • Tamara Martin – North Cache Middle School
  • Todd Simpson – Providence Elementary School
  • Shyanne Ovard – Ridgeline High School
  • Kelli Searle – Sky View High School
  • Carol White – Spring Creek Middle School
  • Rita Allen – Wellsville Elementary School

The awards and personal checks were made possible by donations from Adams Wealth Advisors, Cache Education Foundation, Cache Title, Cache Valley Bank, Caffe Ibis, Vern and Marian Fielding, Hickman Land Title, JBS, Just My Wish Foundation, Lasting Engraving, Lewiston State Bank, Northern Title, Pepperidge Farm, Riggo Chaparro/State Farm, Sanity Solutions, and Young Auto Mall.

Additionally, the Cache Education Foundation helped facilitate the Hansen Honorarium, an award that recognizes the top teacher at Mountain Crest, Ridgeline, Green Canyon and Sky View high schools. Those teachers include Natalie Tueller at Sky View, Randall Beach at Green Canyon, Caroline Smith at Ridgeline and Pam John with Mountain Crest.

The foundation also helped administer and award nearly $16,000 in scholarships to students throughout the district this past school year. In coordination with the Just My Wish Foundation, an additional $7,000 was given to the Gifted and Talented programs in the district and $13,600 was given to help support elementary media.

In December, the foundation delivered $150,000 in Tools for Schools grants to teachers and classrooms throughout the district. Those grants are to be used for non-consumable goods.

The foundation will be hosting its annual Driving for Education fundraising golf tournament on Tuesday, August 6th at Birch Creek Golf Course. The funds raised from the tournament helps provide tools and products for teachers in the classroom.

-Award Recipients-

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.