Candidates queue up for local municipal elections

Under recent changes to state election laws, all municipal elections in Utah must now be conducted through mail-in balloting.

CACHE COUNTY – The upcoming municipal elections here will be crowded with local candidates vying for mayoral and city council posts.

Cache County Clerk Jess Bradfield says that 27 hopefuls have filed for mayor with their respective city recorders in 16 of the county’s communities, along with another 52 city council candidates.


Incumbent Mayor David Wood will face no opposition to retain his seat in Amalga. Paul Hansen has filed as a candidate for city council there.


In Clarkston, incumbent Mayor Craig Hidalgo will run unopposed for reelection to his post, while McCall Stephensen and Nicole Sparks have filed as city council candidates.


Mayor Matt Leak will also run unopposed to retain in post in Cornish. L. Brad Fisher and Chris Buxton have also filed as city council candidates in that community.


In Hyde Park, incumbent Mayor Charles Wheeler, who was recently appointed to replace the late Sharidean Flint, will not seek reelection. Bryan C. Cox will run unopposed for mayor of that community, while Gerald Osborne, Bob Christensen, Kevin Flint and Phillip Cowley vie for city council seats.


Incumbent Mayor Stephanie Miller is unopposed in her bid for reelection in Hyrum. Jared L. Clawson and Paul C. James have filed as candidates for the Hyrum City Council.


In Lewiston, Jeff W. Hall and K. Roy Hall are seeking to replace outgoing Mayor Kelly Field. A total of six residents have filed as city council candidates in Lewiston: Regan Wheeler, Sigrid R. Roderer, Brenda K, Link, John H. Morrison, Kade B. Tarbet and Ned K. Simpler.


As previously reported, the mayoral race in Logan will be a three-way contest between incumbent Mayor Holly Daines and challengers Dee Jones and R. Lowell Huber. Three candidates have also filed for the two Logan City Council seats that are in contention in the upcoming municipal election, They are incumbents Amy Z. Anderson and Ernesto López and challenger Keegan Garrity.


In Mendon, incumbent Mayor Ed Buist will run unopposed to retain his seat, while Jonathan W. Hardman, Judith Keilani Ludlow, Michael Morgan and Robert Jepsen compete for seats on the city council.


Incumbent Mayor David N. Hair will face off against Robert Lee Cudney in the Millville mayoral race. Daniel Grange and Clay Walker have also filed as city council candidates in that community.


Because the cities of Newton and Nibley have opted to use ranked choice voting in their upcoming municipal elections, Bradfield says it’s filing deadline for their candidates will be in mid-August.


In North Logan, Lindsay Peterson and Chris Nelson are seeking to replace outgoing Mayor Damon Cann. Five residents have also filed as city council candidates in North Logan: Brad Crookston, Bruce W. Lee, Emily Schmidt, Darrin Buttery and Joni Kartchner.


Incumbent Mayor Vic Little will defend his post against challenger Larry A. Johnson in Paradise. Residents who have filed as city council candidates in Paradise are Michael M. Burns, Devin Thomas and Whitney Gale.


In Providence, Kathleen Willardson Alder and Robert A. Cruz will compete to replace outgoing Mayor John Drew. Four residents have also filed as city council candidates: Jeff Carlos Nebeker, Jeanell S. Sealy, Ryan Moeller and Kristina Eck.


Incumbent Mayor Jeff Young will not seek reelection in Richmond. Paul J. Erickson and Terrie L. Wierenga have filed as candidates for that post, while four others will complete for city council seats. They are Amber Ervin, Reese Hulbert, Vern Fielding and Lyle R. Bair.


The filing deadline for municipal candidates in River Heights has also been delayed until mid-August since that community has opted to use ranked choice voting.


In Smithfield, incumbent Mayor Jeffrey H. Barnes will defend his seat against challenger Kris Monson, while Bart Caley, Jamie Anderson, Sue Hyer, Wade C. Campbell and Andrew Lillywhite complete for city council seats.


The mayoral race in Trenton will be a three-way affair, with incumbent Mayor Lynn G. Payne competing against challengers Deyette K. Bradley and Rachelle Ludwinski. Three candidates for city council have also filed in Trenton: Cortney Andrew, Kyle Kingston and Stephanie Merrill.


In Wellsville, incumbent Mayor Thomas Bailey’s reelection bid will be unopposed. Austin V. Wood and Kaylene Ames have filed as city council candidates in that community.

The primary for local municipal posts is slated for Aug. 10 and the general election is scheduled for Nov. 2.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.